#TheDissident (a poem)

Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?Martin Luther King Jr.

kidbroIn the quietness of the day,
The stillness of my heart makes my heart drift
To places I always tag “impossible”
No yearning for fate to remove the idleness I now crave
It’s that point I envisage the unknown

And from within I feel enlightened
My eyes still searches for me in the busy street
At time I feel entwined with an insensitive humanity
That’s satisfied with the “usual”
I turned into something weird
That dude that allows the cool of wind reminds him of life and living

Desperate to feel something more
Also fear being burnt by knowing too much
Ok I reached a point of dilemma
I never want to go numb
Loosing all spouts of inspiration and motivation
I would never be ready to be accepted

I started with rejecting what they imposed on me
I am now driven by the urge to staying relevant
I cannot trust what you call sane no more
My fears are what you can’t define
I transformed into their worst nightmare
The phantom they always wanted to see in their mirror

I am not speaking of moving on
‘Cos I became the reason younger ones learnt to fly

Gabor

Somewhere in Sri Lanka by Gabor Dovrnik

Not interested in how long the pain would last
I became immune to certain bullshit
It’s real life and a line has being drawn boldly

The thought of indifferent answer frightens me
I became a warrior for only positives alone
Let’s not hide now we have choosing to stand a ground
Hoping that you choose to fight side by side your demons
Choosing to stay blind to self
It’s a never ending street we walk on now
Full of faults maybe, but an assure end for sure

Abandoned dreams with an attitude that scares you
I know reality turned you into a huge nervous wreck
Taking enthusiasm from your grasp
Would you choose to walk still?
Walk until my feet bleed out and I fall off this earth?

Into a frozen grave in the mist of “time given”
Reminding you of one thing:
You choose to died alone
‘Cos you lived alone
But now it looks like the end
It would be a lonely journey to the abyss for sure
Would you forever make that place your home
Or you choose to hold an outstretched arm?


*WRITTEN AND EDITED BY CHARLES OKPERE*


#Celonarants™

#WeHereForAllOfUs

© 2016 CelonaCharles

2 thoughts on “#TheDissident (a poem)

Leave a Reply

