HEROS

If you are not the hero of your own story, then you’re missing the whole point of your humanity ~ Steve Maraboli

facebook-20151105-163928I am putting ink to sheet, scribbling down words on Heroism and who I think is my hero, this could be tagged “rambles” if you choose; knowing for sure that people from all over the world are going to read these words. People of all ages, ethnic and cultural backgrounds, of different religious beliefs. Most of them, I will never get a chance to meet and a few of them I would love to meet in person, as they turn out to be my real heroes. I promise I am not writing these words to impress any individual, not with this little chance given on a platter.

As I continue to exist in a world, saddled with plenty of chaos, I would say; I have seen a fair share of individuals from the 21st century that impress with their style of activism and outspokenness; practitioners of attributes which I really admire, from the likes of; Chinua Achebe, to the likes of Kendall F. Person, J.J Omojuwa, Jason Cushman, Chimamanda Adichie, not even mentioning grand masters and legends, who did great jobs at spreading the gospel of world-peace and tranquility; grand masters like; Nelson Mandela, Maya Angelou, Mahatma Gandhi, my list would go on and on, if I choose to keep mentioning names but because it’s becoming increasingly difficult to realize that every single person we see walking past us on the street is another human, like me and you, who wants to be loved and treated as a role model; a potential Hero for a little kid somewhere, which makes us tend to care less about who stands up tall as a mentor or symbol of authority and example in our lives, unknowingly; we are nurturing a generation that is becoming immune to everything but self.

Chinua-Achebe_edit

Embracing the idea of Hero, means we break walls that hide the true self that needs improvement and developments, exposing us to important people around us, who seek to see that true individual that hides behind written or spoken words. As a young man, with loads of heroes of my own and with little children looking up to me, I encourage and support the will to choose a life pattern; as what works for me may not work for another but even at that, some basics remain unchanged and unchallenged. A hero does not expose innocent souls to unnecessary information which taints their inflicted beliefs and practices from what they should know. As i sit here reminiscing on how I could become a better hero to a child somewhere in this world, I am all about confronting today’s challenges and getting armed for tomorrow’s; I just can’t help but laugh out loud at the fact that the Hero I have chosen for today, is a non-living woman, with plenty of  attributes that are exemplary.

0819heroescover

Standing 23 stories tall and weighing in at just over 200,000kg, the statue of liberty stands as a proud and poignant as ever at the entrance of the New York City harbor, with a colossal crown and gold-plated touch certainly to distinguish her as a grand matron to all the citizens of the United state; she has been a symbol of freedom, democracy and tenacity of the human spirit since her inception; she could be easily picked as a symbol that stand for ‘second chances’, as her lifeless, still eyes has welcomed those from both the farthest distance and shortest travels, this includes millions of immigrants who left troubled shores, in search of a land of opportunity, since 1889. The Statue Of Liberty, would be my hero for the day; as I feel humans have got a lot to learn from her.

  • Original cast of ‘the lives we live’originalcast_edit
I was going through my works in The Neighborhood. ‘the lives we live’ [http://wp.me/p33yiN-3b4] was an amazing reality show, so I decided to share my piece on “Hero”.
Hope you enjoyed it 😉
The new series *A star is born* is still on, and we got 6 more wonderful contestant who are ready to drop sensational works of art, stay tuned.
  • The 6 remaining artist in #AStarIsBorn IMG_20151111_135829_edit
5 thoughts on “HEROS

Leave a Reply

